DUI/Driver’s License Suspension – Georgia’s Administrative License Suspension Law

Have you received a notice of administrative license suspension, or ALS, because you refused to submit to a blood, breath or urine test after you were arrested for DUI? If you submitted chemical evidence, did you receive a yellow DS-1205 form (now computer generated on white paper with some agencies) from a law enforcement officer?

You only have 10 business days to request an administrative hearing to avoid losing your license!

Failure to appeal the suspension of your driver’s license can result in the following:

  • Your license will be suspended on the 31st day following your DUI arrest.
  • Your license will likely be suspended for one year.

***Effective May 13, 2010, your request for an administrative license suspension hearing must include a $150 filing fee. Your check should be payable to the Georgia Department of Driver Services.

Contact me immediately at 404-451-6757, and I will personally assist you with your request for an administrative hearing.

Administrative License Suspension for Refusal

Georgia’s Implied Consent Law states that any licensed driver agrees to submit chemical evidence upon the request of a law enforcement officer. The chemical test might be in the form or blood, breath, or urine. The officer must have probable cause to make this request.

If the driver refuses to submit to a chemical test, the officer is authorized to seize his or her driver’s license and issue a temporary permit. The Georgia Department of Driver Services will then initiate a civil case, the administrative license suspension, in which it attempts to suspend your license for refusal.

Administrative License Suspension for Unlawful BAC

If a driver submits to a chemical test and the results are at or above the per se limit (.080 or higher for someone age 21 and over not operating a commercial vehicle), the officer will initiate an administrative license suspension by issuing a DS-1205, giving the yellow copy to the driver.